

van 't Hoff Prize 2026

The van 't Hoff Prize was established in 2008 by Gerhard Ertl in memory of the first Nobel Prize winner in chemistry Jacobus Henricus van 't Hoff. The award winner receives a silver medal and prize money. The award ceremony will take place at the opening of the Bunsen-Tagung.

The prize is awarded for outstanding and sustained contributions to the field of Physical Chemistry by an active scientist. Suitable candidates of high international visibility in their research field are evaluated with respect to scientific quality of their research. There are no restrictions on age, nationality or country of residence, but candidates should preferably come from a German-speaking region in Europe.

Nominations for the van 't Hoff Prize should be submitted with the following documents (in German or English):

- a concise supporting statement which shows the candidate's scientific achievements and states the corresponding publications
- a CV of the candidate

Self-nominations are not eligible.

Nominations should be submitted **by 15. Oktober 2025** to Deutsche Bunsen-Gesellschaft für physikalische Chemie e. V., Dr. Elisabeth Kapatsina, geschaeftsstelle@bunsen.de.